Information Technology

The ICT curriculum, now called 'Computing', has been reformed. It now includes a clearly-articulated strand of computer science (including programming) as the underlying subject discipline, alongside the use and application of digital technology.

Courses Followed

At Key Stage Three the ICT department follows the national curriculum for ICT and computing. This aims to ensure that all pupils:

  • Can understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including abstraction, logic, algorithms and data representation
  • Can analyse problems in computational terms, and have repeated practical experience of writing computer programs in order to solve such problems
  • Can evaluate and apply information technology, including new or unfamiliar technologies, analytically to solve problems
  • Are responcible, competent, confident and creative users of information and communication technology

At Key Stage Four students can opt out to study ICT. The course followed is the certificate in Digital Applications (CiDA) This is the equivalent of one GCSE.

Students will study the following:

  • Developing Web Products (Two and a half hour exam) This is worth 25% of the final grade.
  • Creative Multimedia (controlled assessment) This is worth 75% of the final grade. 

The Information Technology staff are:

  • Mrs F Ozdemir (Curriculum Leader)
  • Ms J Mersh